Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

What BS rims to buy for 5.5RE w/2"spacers w/LTB 35x12.5 Swampers

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2009, 03:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4 Liter
Default What BS rims to buy for 5.5RE w/2"spacers w/LTB 35x12.5 Swampers

I just got a 96 XJ w/ a 5.5RE short arm lift + 2" spacers on Front & 2" blocks on the rear & The fenders are trimmed .I just got some 35x12.5x15 LTB Swampers and want to make sure I get the right back spacing on the rims . I would like to get some 15x8 Crager Soft 8s.

Im just trying to avoid rubbing when flexed out as much as possible & also be able to steer sharp.
Also are there any high steer kits for XJ's.

Any info would be great as I am new to this JEEP stuff
I just sold my 85 Toyota and converted over to XJ's & Im reading as much as possible
Old 07-10-2009, 03:39 PM
CF Veteran

Received 19 Likes on 12 Posts
Year: 2001
Engine: 4.0L

4" back space would be fine.

And I be leave that is the standard for Soft 8's as well..
Old 07-10-2009, 10:15 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 2000
Engine: 4.0L home brew Snorkle

since your tires are 12.5 let me make 2 suggestions. i have the crager soft 8's 4" bs and 10.5 " tires. i am close to rubbing at full turn about 3/4" till rub. i would suggest:

1. getting 3.5" bs.
2. getting 10" wide rims.
Old 07-11-2009, 12:01 AM

Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0L w/ AFE stage 2, bored TB

Dont get 10" wide wheels. Since your wanting LTBs your prolly into rock crawling. Id get some Soft 8s in about 3.25" BS. Go to Summit or call them and order some. Theyll be special order but no extra cost I dont believe. My buddy got some in 2" BS.

Im on about 7" lift and 3.75" BS and my Toyos rub my LAs. SO Id get something around that or less.

High steer kits are made by Teraflex, Rustys, and Treks I believe.
Old 07-11-2009, 12:04 AM