Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Tube doors

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2010, 01:00 PM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 91/96
Model: Cherokee
Talking Tube doors

I bought some tube doors from jeeptubes and i am having problems trying to find door latches. Any ideas?
Old 09-03-2010, 01:06 PM
CF Veteran

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Year: 1987
Engine: Check

Your old doors?

Sorry, had to say it. I've seen them used, though. Not sure if you wanna cut up your originals.
Old 09-03-2010, 01:11 PM
CF Veteran

I have a parts XJ so I could. was also thinking about using the window and door controls and mount them on the dash for the back windows.
Old 09-03-2010, 01:27 PM
CF Veteran

I've got no experience with power windows and locks. And mine is a 2 door, so window controls would be non-existent with tubes.

I was looking a day or two ago trying to figure out an easy way to pull off the doors on my 87. It didn't seem easy. :/
Old 09-03-2010, 03:46 PM
CF Veteran

I took off the front doors of my first xj. it wasn't too bad if you dont care about cutting. 2 of the screws strippped so got the sawzaw out. but once i took the doors off the back windows wouldnt roll up.
Old 09-03-2010, 03:51 PM
CF Veteran

HA! I love being a 2 door!

The goal would be taking them off and still have the ability to put them back on. I live in Wisconsin, so winters are long and real effin cold. This will be my DD once it gets too cold to ride my motorcycle.

What did you do to keep your dome lights off? Do the tube doors hit the switch to cut the lights off? Did you pull a fuse?