Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Spline Count

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2009, 02:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Spline Count

Ok here it goes guys. I am an aircooled vw guy but am helping my friend on his cherokee laredo so we can go ride together. He has a 1990 Cherokee Laredo 4wd. It had a shot transfer case in it. He called the jeep dealership and they told him it had a 242 xfer case in it which was later verified when we dropped the case. The problem is the 242 that is at the salvage yard has a 21 spline count on the input shaft of the xfer case and the transmission output shaft has 23 splines.

So what are our options here as far as maybe a conversion shaft to 23. I am new to jeeps but mechanically inclined so let us know what to do. Is there maybe a beefier xfer case that would work in his application that would have 23 splines?

BTW it is a 4.0l with an automatic
Old 06-05-2009, 03:20 PM
CF Veteran

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Year: 1991
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by aircooled_laredo
Ok here it goes guys. I am an aircooled vw guy but am helping my friend on his cherokee laredo so we can go ride together. He has a 1990 Cherokee Laredo 4wd. It had a shot transfer case in it. He called the jeep dealership and they told him it had a 242 xfer case in it which was later verified when we dropped the case. The problem is the 242 that is at the salvage yard has a 21 spline count on the input shaft of the xfer case and the transmission output shaft has 23 splines.

So what are our options here as far as maybe a conversion shaft to 23. I am new to jeeps but mechanically inclined so let us know what to do. Is there maybe a beefier xfer case that would work in his application that would have 23 splines?

BTW it is a 4.0l with an automatic