Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Slow turn, front wheel hopping

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2012, 09:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Slow turn, front wheel hopping

This is my first time posting, I've been browsing around the last few weeks finding solutions to problems. Thanks to all those who share their knowledge.

I just bought a 2000 XJ, 165k miles. When turning sharply left or right slowly (like into a parking stall), the outside front tire sort of hops or skips, or kind of kicks out like it's binding then the bottom pushes out. It hops a few times like this while turning into a stall, for example.

First I thought it was stuck in 4WD, found some gravel to test it. Shifted 4WD around and tried the reverse trick. Gunned it on the gravel and only the back tires spun. Tested it again on pavement, it still hopped... It's been racking my brain for a few weeks now.

I know while turning, inner and outer wheels turn at different speeds, is there something that controls that? Could it just be bad differential fluid? Something in the transfer case?

I checked the differential fluid and it is full. Front U-joints appear to be fine.

Anybody else run into this? Any suggestions?
Old 06-27-2012, 10:36 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1990
Engine: The venerable 4.0

I'm thinkin its because of the super tight turning radius or something. Mine does the same thing. Are you on stock tires? I did just replace all my tie rod ends and the one at the pitman ARM was trashed. I haven't tried a tight turn since I replaced everything but ill let u know the results. The tre at the pitman was terrible, totally loose and the housing was worn back over the shoulder of the part. The ball was on its way out. I thought maybe that could cause it. Like I said ill try it tomorrow and come back with results.