Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Which sensors control idle valve position?

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2012, 07:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Which sensors control idle valve position?

Hi,
I'm totally new to jeeps so I hope this isnt an obvious question. Here's some background:

I just got a 2000 cherokee se that's giving an engine light error code pointing (according to mechanic) to the idle control system.
The mechanic says the idle valve/servo is receiving erratic signals from the 'computer' and the problem is intermittent. He wants to replace the 'computer' and valve to trouble shoot, which I get to pay for if it's not the issue.

The guy said he'd 'checked the 'vacuum system' but I'm wondering what other inputs the ecu uses to control the valve. I'm guessing throttle position and RPM.. O2 even? I guess my question is what all should be checked before resorting to switching out the valve and ECU.

Any hints/insight into how the system works will be a great help to me. I'm trying to get a good understanding of it before letting the mechanic spend my money on trial and error trouble shooting.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Jon.
Old 11-18-2012, 07:22 PM

Ummm... Does he mean the iac sensor?? Idle air control? That could be a issue.. Can u provide some details on the symptoms ur getting how its running or if its running?? I know off my head u got anything really can cause idle issues.. Battery, iac, tps, map, maf, for that matter timing, plugs.. Anything can uf u see where i am going.. I highly doubt the computer needs replaced if it running codes and only 1.
Old 11-18-2012, 09:03 PM

Actually no symptoms at all but it won't pass inspection. Idle is smooth and rpm seems steady.