Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Running awful

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2012, 10:23 AM
Seasoned Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: Inline 6
Default Running awful

Here's the deal, I've been fighting a bad miss in my 99 for about 3 months now. We've been all over the place trying to fix it...
What it does is starts real hard and idles like it's gonna die. Going down the road it has no power and tugs and pulls..kinda like it's running out of gas. After a shift at low RPM's it feels like it's gonna die.
Here's a list of some of what we've done to try and fix it..

>Replaced all fuel injectors
>Replaced all plugs/wires
>New fuel rail
>Replaced almost all sensors
>Felt cat converter and it's not getting plugged
>Recently put a throttle body spacer and new intake on. So we took off the throttle body spacer, and tha fixed it temperarily, but now it's back to it's back to it's bad ways.
..I'm sure theres a little bit more. We did take over to Huddle Tire and have it looked at today and they put a tester on it and it said it's missing on all cylinders except for 3, and that my O2 Sensor behind my cat needs replaced. Also, it said something about a fuel injector Circuit. What's your guys' input here? What will fix this friggin miss?

It's a 99 with 199,000 miles on it.

Thanks fellers
Old 02-20-2012, 10:29 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0 high output

Maybe clogged fuel filter or failing fuel pump.
Old 02-20-2012, 10:37 AM

Year: 2000
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by moundhill
Here's the deal, I've been fighting a bad miss in my 99 for about 3 months now. We've been all over the place trying to fix it...