Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

rear end replacement

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2014, 05:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default rear end replacement

Good morning. First.... i am no mechanic! AND i'm a newbie. i just bought a '95 cherokee country. I received this build sheet from chrysler customer assistance yesterday by sending them the vin#. As you can see its quite detailed. It says that that it has a corporate 8.25 differential. it's making a metal to metal sound with what seems to be every revolution of the tires. it is consistently speeding up and slowing down with the vehicle. my son and i have had it apart we did notice that there was lots of play in the spider gears but other than that we didn't know what we were looking for. long story.... we ran out of time and put it back together while waiting for new spider gears. i've since been told that it is more likely the ring and pinion gear. what i can tell you for sure is that there is a chrysler logo embossed in the diff casting, the axel has 27 splines and as best as i could measure the ring gear was 8.25". In this article, http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Jeep_Li...rysler_8.25%22 , it claims that a corporate 8.25 has 29 splines. whats up? i would prefer to swap out the entire rear end rather than monkey with working on ring and pinion nightmare. any thoughts on what rear end i should be looking for , year, model etc, that will fit under this otherwise great vehicle? any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks

VIN 1J4FJ78S0SL659150
Vehicle Description JEEP CHEROKEE
Model Year 1995
Body Model XJ J L 74
Color PV1- Light Pearlstone
ISD 07/28/1995

Sales Code Description
*R7 Cloth Low-Back Bucket Seats
ADAP Light Group
ADH Heavy Duty Electrical Group
AED Chrome Appearance Group
APAS Monotone Paint
ARXP Country Decor Group