Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Is my transfer case going/gone?

Old 04-22-2013, 10:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Is my transfer case going/gone?

It goes into 4HI without hesitation about 85% of the time, and almost always makes a clunk/grind going into 4LO (this is in N on the automatic).

It 4LO it has really harsh engages into Reverse and Drive, like as in I'm attempting to drag race and am launching the car. It also grinds going into Park while in 4LO.

4HI has very little problems: every now and then it might clunk when going into 4HI ... and that's about it.

Now this is my first time even owning a 4WD, so I'm sorry if I sound really inexperienced in this area of work, because ... well ... I kind of am.

2HI has no problems whatsoever.

I jacked up my truck and held both the front and rear wheels off the ground using jack stands. I started the engine, put the trannyinto N (this is the only spot my Jeep will allow me to shift the drive-train), shift the TCase into 4WD (doesn't matter whether in HI or LO), then put the tranny into D, and the front wheels didn't spin. I noticed during this test that if I have it in 4WD long enough in Drive (with the rear wheels spinning), the transfer case will begin to make a clatter, almost a grind.

So my question is: is my transfer case going/gone? How easy will this be to fix?

If the TCase IS gone, I will probably just get a junkyard one along with the manual tranny when I go tranny shopping for my auto to manual conversion project.
Old 04-23-2013, 12:57 AM
CF Veteran

Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts

Does your front driveshaft spin in 4WD? I think you have the vacuum disconnect front axle.
It won't shift in and out of 4X4 in drive while moving? Foot off gas, shift transfer case, foot back on gas?
Old 04-23-2013, 06:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts