Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

low idle/ won't start up after stall

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2012, 05:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default low idle/ won't start up after stall

Hey guys,
I've been using this forum the past week or so since i bought my 2000 Cherokee. I bought this thing with no research because some realiable auto resources (relatives and mechs alike) all said the 4.0 is bomb proof and they're good vehicles. Now 10 days into ownership I've already replaced the imfamous 0331 head due to a coolant leak between cyl 3 and 4 down the side of the engine. worst part is i pointed it out before purchase but my resources all shook it off as a valve cover leak. Anyways everything is assembled now and it runs pretty good when it runs. but here's my issue:

first start after about 10-15 minutes it starts, runs for 5-10 minutes depending on how long it sat. the longer it sits the longer it runs. but the idle is really low and then the engine stalls out. Then i can restart it but it takes a few on/offs with the ignition before i can turn it over.

Here's what i've done:
-checked grounds
-vacuum hoses
-cleaned iac
-and drove for about 20 minutes just keeping the idle around 800-1000 at stop signs.
-replaced battery

I'm lost now. did a bunch of searching and you guys have been great so now i'm here asking for a little more help. any ideas?

my next guess is something to do with the fuel system. Everything is hooked up correctly. however the priming situation leaves me with this guess. also when it stalls for the third time in a set of consecutive starts (starting it right after it stalls) I cant even get it to start. cranks fine. but no start.

Any guesses, suggestions?

update: