Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Losing head over head....

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2013, 04:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default Losing head over head....

Hi yall. Im new to the neighborhood, hate to meet under these circumstances, but here goes: About a month ago, I bought a '00 xj 4.0l w/100k. It was love at first cruise! (Dodge is my usual drug of choice) Anyway, first week of ownership, no real problems. Now as these few weeks have progressed: started as rough idle once engine is warm and oil pressure all over the place (drops as motor warms up), losing gas milage, absolutely no power, and now using excessive coolant too. Last week it threw 3 TPS codes, so I replaced the TPS, and cleaned the IAC and throttle body (both had massive amounts of carbon build up). The new TPS and cleanup did nothing to fix idle. On a whim, I took it to a buddy to have the cooling system pressure tested, which failed miserably Im told. Just yesterday it threw 3 new codes, this time misfires (cyl 1, cyl 5, all cyl). Now Im irritated. Today I went and had a chat with the place who sold me the jeep. They insist that it CANNOT be either a head gasket or cracked head because they had just replaced both (head came from junkyard) right before they sold it to me. I presented them with my knowledge that I know now that this motor's original head as one of the flawed 0331 heads, which was crack prone, Im assuming that the "replacement" head is another one of he flawed 0331s. (These people also claim that the 4.0l is indestructible, that head statement is just speculation. Really?!) My buddy did mention that it was obvious that the motor had been apart, so these "honest" people may have done some work to it, although Im not sure I trust it was done right. Is it possible they messed up a head job an