Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Help: Transmission Trouble

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2012, 11:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000 Classic
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Question Help: Transmission Trouble

I have a 2000 Cherokee Classic 4X4, 4.0 L , Automatic.

I am not a mechanic, so bear with me, I am a school teacher who needs to get his ride fixed on the cheap.

I was driving home from work one day and my jeep would not upshift. It stayed in first gear and the engine revved pretty high. On the way home, it did finally start shifting, but it was a very hard shift. This came on pretty suddenly, the transmission had no difficulties up to that point. Since this happened, the shifting still remains hard, it dies easily at idle in park, and there is a strange looking warning light on (looks like a engine or a transmission). The Jeep did get pretty hot shortly before that because of a cooling issue, don't know if it could be related.

I checked the fluid and it is not bright red, bet does not look horrible.

Could this be related to the Throttle Position Sensor?

I need to get it fixed, but cannot spend a ton changing parts. What should I do first? Fluid and filter, TPS? I do not have a trusted mechanic, and I am very weary of transmission specialty shops. I can figure out most things given a little advice and a lot of time.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 02-19-2012, 11:26 PM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0 HO Straight Six

My suggestion would be to go to an auto parts store and have them hook up a code reader to see if anything comes up.

Sounds to me like your idle air control valve. I'd suggest pulling that and the throttle body and giving em a nice cleaning. Your TPS could be going out. There's a way to test it to make sure it's working correctly