Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.
Old 09-10-2015, 03:38 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Engine Problems by Sympton
Print Wikipost

foamy power steering fluid

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2015, 01:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1994
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default foamy power steering fluid

sooo... let me start by saying i am not a mechanically savvy person. i am trying to learn, this is the first vehicle i have owned and please be gentle with me.
I have been having problems with loss of power. replaced the alternator a few months back, and my battery is fine. took it all apart and had them both tested. put everything back together and now my power steering fluid is all foamy. noticed a small leak on the reservoir and when i started it up after putting alternator and battery back it foamed out and all over the place.
so not only do i have no idea why i am loosing power, but now this. i dont have the money to take it to a shop, and i dont have anyone that can come and help me. any advice is appreciated. thanks!
Old 06-04-2015, 02:09 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1995

Originally Posted by Haley Lawrence
sooo... let me start by saying i am not a mechanically savvy person. i am trying to learn, this is the first vehicle i have owned and please be gentle with me.
I have been having problems with loss of power. replaced the alternator a few months back, and my battery is fine. took it all apart and had them both tested. put everything back together and now my power steering fluid is all foamy. noticed a small leak on the reservoir and when i started it up after putting alternator and battery back it foamed out and all over the place.