Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Exact model / modifications?

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2021, 09:51 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Question Exact model / modifications?

Hey guys

Newbie here. First post!

During covid lockdown last year I purchased a lovely red, 1998 XJ - RHD as I live in the UK.

Since then I've had a few repairs carried out by the local mechanics, and each time we've found that the usual part numbers for components don't quite fit my model.

So I'm wondering if my XJ is either (a) some kind of very limited edition model, or (b) has been modified. I'm hoping someone on here has the knowledge to educate me

Two quick examples:

I had to replace the core plugs (expansion plugs) on the engine block, because they were corroding. I used P/N J3105394, which I took straight from the 1998 parts doc (attached). But the plugs didn't fit. Too large apparently.

Then, shortly afterwards, I had the radiator replaced and, again, the one I ordered didn't quite fit, even though I definitely ordered the RHD version and even though the eBay seller confirmed it would fit, based on the VIN number. Again. I used the P/N from the document (52028537), but the mechanic told me that he had to make some small modifications in order to make it fit. For example, using washers to space some things off and grinding down one of the pipes because it was touching a part of the cowling.