Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Engine won't start, new fuel pump not working

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2012, 01:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 93
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6 HO
Default Engine won't start, new fuel pump not working

Hey there everyone, I'm new to Jeeps, new to this forum, and new to working on vehicles in general. Firstly, this forum and a few others have been a HUGE help so far, so THANK YOU. Decided it is time to reach out and post up since my 93 XJ has been stranded down the road last 3 days.

The problem: replaced the entire fuel pump assembly(Airtex) about a week ago, drove fine for a few days...right before it stalled, I noticed a few misfires/hicups when I revved a little at idle right after starting. 5 minutes later there was 1 more hiccup and it just stalled while driving. No check engine light. I can hear the starter spinning and battery gauge says about 11-12v, but I don't hear the fuel pump turn on. Tried to jumpstart..nothing. Switched the fuel pump relay w/another one...nothing. Bypassed the ballast resistor...nothing. Everything seems to be working ok except the fuel pump isn't turning on. Any ideas why it wouldn't be turning on? I have a suspicion it may be something electrical since I don't know how a fuel pump could be installed wrong...is there something I'm missing here?

Tried to check engine codes, but can't get it to display for some reason...turned key off>on 3 times but the parking brake light, upshift arrow and check engine light just stay on.