Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Engine knock

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2013, 10:51 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 6 cylinder
Default Engine knock

Hey guys, my 91 Cherokee Laredo (4.0 6 Cylinder) has a pretty distinct knock coming from the engine, previous owner had it like this throughout the whole time he owned it and never gave him any troubles, jeep still runs like a champ. was just wondering if anybody could possibly tell me what the knocking is from, maybe one day in the near future i'll look into it. The car has 226,500 miles on it by the way, and still runs better than my mothers Mercedes of my stepfathers F-150, who is on his 4th transmission right now, that's right, 4th transmission. Nice job Ford.

Old 07-19-2013, 11:54 AM

Engine: 4.0

I'm not an engine expert by any means but I have an XJ with a knock as well. Not as pronounced as yours, but the "pattern" seems similar. Many people think mine has a sticky lifter. Does the problem come and go? Does it go away when the engine is warmed up? Check flex plate and torque converter bolts too, that's what others have suggested to me. I asked a couple mechs if it was piston slap and they all said no because the problem is irregular for me. But if it is consisten, then it may be piston slap, which I have heard isn't really gonna hur these XJ's? Someone else will come along and yell at me if I'm wrong, I'm sure Here's a vid of mine:

EDIT:

This is a second vid I made, it might be easier to identify. Like I said, ours seem to have a similar rhythm...

Last edited by andrewenglish; 07-19-2013 at 11:57 AM.
Old 07-19-2013, 12:02 PM

Engine: 4.0 6 cylinder