Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Electrical: Stuff that stays on which shouldn't.

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2010, 03:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Electrical: Stuff that stays on which shouldn't.

Hey Everyone.

I just got a 2000 jeep cherokee sport. I need it to haul film equipment. (I'm a film student.) I'm having trouble with the starter. I think this is a result of stuff that doesn't turn off.

Now, I need my money for filmstock, so I don't want to spend a whole lot at a mechanic if I can avoid it, so I'm hoping to get some help here.

Now, I think I need a new battery, but that's going to wait until I get the things that are draining the battery fixed.

That seems to be the fact that the clock on the radio doesn't turn off. Also the lights that backlight the window/lock controls on the doors.

What would cause these to stay on? Is it a simple fix? Jumping this thing all the time is getting annoying.

Also, I might have a bad alternator. I got a machine that automatically jumpstarts the jeep off a battery, but it has an 'alternator test light' which always comes up red. I don't know how it can tell I have a bad alternator when the jeep isn't turned on, but maybe it can. ???

Wait, there's more. When I'm at the idle, the battery meter on the dash slowly drops, and something the thing chokes out when I'm backing up in reverse.

Any ideas? This old jeep is pretty beat up, but I really do need it to move my film equipment from the school check out to progect, and more importantly, back to the equipment room.
Old 03-28-2010, 05:00 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1991
Engine: 4.o