Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

CEL-TPS-PCM

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2016, 08:22 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L; I-6
Default CEL-TPS-PCM

Hello all,

New to the forum but have been reading posts/threads for years and have been a Jeep Cherokee Owner since 2005. As a daily driver, I currently own a 2000 XJ, 4.0, 4WD, auto trans, all stock, 235,000 miles and I change the oil regularly. Past few months the CEL has been off and on randomly. Usually comes on in the morning and idles rough, hesitates and either sounds like its mis-firing or jumping gears, and wont accelerate for crap. When I start the engine with the CEL on it has an immediate high RPM jump to 1300 or so then will drop to the normal RPM range when I put it into over-drive. When I come to a stop it sounds like it stays in a high gear too long and stays at a high RPM for a few seconds before sometimes dropping below 1000 RPM. 50/50 chance the CEL will be off when I drive it home at the end of the day then it starts all over again the next day. When the CEL is off, it runs like beautifully. No acceleration problems, no mis-fire/gear shift sounds.