Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

blown headgasket

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2012, 06:59 PM
CF Veteran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0l

Well found out i blew my headgasket.... so after alot of thinking ive decided on ordering a head overhaul kit from a buddy that has hookups for 200$.

My buddy is helping me do the work(big cummins guy and has experience) but I am lost, an he is confused on where to start and what all needs to be done.

oil/coolant change?(how many times? 50/50?)
head torque speqs?
what do I start with?

This is my first time doing serious engine work.... So just remember everybody's gotta start somewhere and learn.....

Last edited by IZAREBL; 04-04-2012 at 08:53 AM.
Old 04-03-2012, 07:58 PM

this will be over your head if you are asking these simple questions. get a chiltons or haynes and pray you can fix it.
Old 04-03-2012, 08:00 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1996
Engine: I6

Im fairly confident someone like you could do it. but you should get a haynes or chiltons for all the specs. Definetely change the coolant and oil. May as well change it. plus you said there was oil in your coolant. so that = BAD.
Completely drain the cooling system, maybe flush it out. and change the oil and filter.
Old 04-03-2012, 08:06 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 2000
Engine: 4.0

Are you sure the head itself isn't cracked?
Old 04-04-2012, 05:29 AM
CF Veteran

Received 99 Likes on 88 Posts
Year: 1999

Originally Posted by Flowpro
Are you sure the head itself isn't cracked?
I agree that you need to be absolutely certain of your diagnosis. The 0331 factory head on the 2000 and 2001 XJ cracks way more often than the headgasket blows. Especially with an overheat of the engine.

How did you troubleshoot this? What led to it?

The more details, the better.
Old 04-04-2012, 08:49 AM
CF Veteran