Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Adding weight..lots of it?

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2008, 04:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1991
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 I6 HO
Default Adding weight..lots of it?

Noob Here!
I want to stay in the 3-3.5" lift range b/c i would "like" (if possible) to stay away from SYE at least @ this time. Also i really want to stay in the 31" tire range. I also want to add a
winch bumper (80#)
winch (about 80#s)
rear bumper w/tire carrier (115#'s)
Sliders (80#'s)
Also other Misc skids, not to mention all the weight inside and the passengers.

So...if i went with a 3" lift like a Rusty's or RC will i be at more like 1.5-2" range after adding all the weight? If so, can i just put spacers and shakles?
Thanks

Last edited by DrRandy; 12-23-2008 at 08:54 PM. Reason: spelling errors, remove unneeded info
Old 12-23-2008, 04:56 PM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1993
Engine: 4.0L

yes you can spacer and shakle it.
Old 12-23-2008, 05:06 PM

Originally Posted by finneys98xj
yes you can spacer and shakle it.
Thanks man...you think i'll drop 1" - 1.5" with that weight? Guess what i asking is will the spacers/shakles be neccessary?

Last edited by DrRandy; 12-23-2008 at 05:24 PM.
Old 12-23-2008, 05:51 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1990
Engine: 4.0 I 6
Default when

yes it will lower u cuz when i chopped my top it lifted my jeep. Imagine when i chop it to the floors and cage it.

Last edited by wicked_xj; 12-23-2008 at 06:02 PM.
Old 12-23-2008, 08:48 PM

Originally Posted by wicked_xj
yes it will lower u cuz when i chopped my top it lifted my jeep. Imagine when i chop it to the floors and cage it.