Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

87 4.0 with issues... obviously

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2015, 08:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 87 4.0 with issues... obviously

Hi there!

I'm new to Jeeps and am a tad mechanically inclined - though, I'd rather have my mechanic buddy do the wrenching and me play beer jocky!

I just bought an 87 with 230k miles on it last week that's got a few issues that need sorting out. I've been doing some troubleshooting and searching around but I thought I'd just list out the issues I have and see if anyone wants to take a crack at it!
  1. Oil in the air filter. (I narrowed this down to a backed up CCV - or in my case a CCV that's broken at the grommet)
  2. OIL LEAKS. (This engine leaks so much oil and has for so long that it's hard to discern where the hell it's coming from. I figure if I fix the CCV, replace the rear main seal, replace the valve cover gasket, replace the distributor gasket and replace the drain plug that would be a good start)
  3. Air leaky brake sound. (I've narrowed this down to a faulty brake booster. I just replaced the brake booster valve and this didn't fix it)
  4. Slow to respond brakes. (I think that replacing the booster may fix this but I was wondering if I should just replace the master cylinder while I'm in there. No it doesn't appear to be leaking. I've noticed a bit of rotor wear so I'll do pads and rotors and a good flush as well)
  5. Strange sounding vibration coming from the transfer case/transmission area while at idle - most audible when brakes are applied. (Forgive my ignorance - I'm learning, that's why I'm here - but the "doohicky" that connects the front and rear diffs to engage 4wd is sitting in the back of the truck and needs to be bolted up. Perhaps the lack of this is causing the vibration?)