Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

from 31" to 35"... need help.

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2009, 06:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default from 31" to 35"... need help.

Mods:this is already in the "jeep builds" section, as it is an ongoing build, but also put it here for tech questions. remove if needed.

Ok i am pretty new to the XJ thing. A couple months ago i aquired a 97 jeep cherokee up country 4x4 in a 5 speed. it had a rouch country 3" in the front and 3" lift blocks in the rear. i have since made the decision to go bigger, ha! i just came up on some new wheels and tires, thet are BFG AT in 35" on some no name wheels, but i need to get a little more ride highth.

Heres where i need your help. instead of buying a whole new lift, is it possible to just replace the front coil with a bigger one, do some RE rear 5.5" leafs, some trimming and stuff those big 35" on there? i noticed the rough country lift is only a lower front arm, and the upper is still factory, i was just going to make some of my own upper arms. also tomorrow i am picking up some fox 2.0 10" remote res. shocks i will be adding to the front.

Heres some pix for good measure:

Old 08-23-2009, 06:36 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 91
Engine: I6

Like you said your gonna have to get rid of those uppers and get aftermarket ones,as the stockers will it,your gonna have to re gear both rears,get a sye if you dont already have one. I would toss those blocks and buy a full leaf pack off of rusty's,i think 6in leafs are $300. Also bushwacker fender flares would probably be your best bet with trimming so the popo dont harass you.
Old 08-23-2009, 08:16 PM

Year: 1997
Engine: I6ho

you're in over your head.
you have no armor, yet are going 6" lift and 35's with no talk of steering/gearing... ?