Le forest ranger project

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2017, 11:22 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default The rig so far...

Mornin forum fam! I'm fairly new to the jeep game (4 months or so) and I was lucky enough to stumble upon a suuuper clean retired forest ranger XJ in Bakersfield of all places. Straight 6, 4L, it's a 2000 and in my research prior to deciding on an XJ, I heard those years had head gasket problems right around 120k which is almost exactly where mines at BUT I got it with a new head gasket so that should save some headaches.
I was born and raised in San Diego, California but moved up to San Luis Obispo to go to college at Cal Poly so I've been building the rig here. My boyfriend works as a welder at a muffler shop so he's been helping me with the hard stuff like the lift kit, welding bumpers, etc...

First thing I did was install a new aftermarket head unit, new speakers in the doors, new overhead speakers in the trunk, and wire up a 12" sub. No one in this tiny town knew anything about wiring or audio, but 10 youtube videos later, I managed to do it myself (proud moment of mine when I re-connected the battery and nothing was fried)

Next I wrapped the center dash in a Hawaiian print, although it has some creases at the top so I might re-do that here shortly.

Then I ordered some 15" smoothie wheels, bronze spray paint, and 31" Mud Terrain BFGs and got to work on that.

A couple weeks ago, I finally got the whole 3" Zone lift kit on. Since my boyfriend works at the shop, he has to squeeze in any **** I want to do in the couple hours he has between the last client and the locking up of the shop, so about a month ago we could only install the rear lift. I was stink buggin it for most of May....