Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Wheel Spacers Discussion

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2014, 03:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default Wheel Spacers Discussion

I did some searching through the site and found a lot of threads on spacers but none with the info I'm looking for. If this discussion is ongoing in another thread, my apologies and please redirect me.
What I'm looking for is some discussion/research on the use of spacers. Specifically, has anyone ever heard of a "tire flying off" or some other problem with their use. I know lots of us (I have been using them for 4-5 months now) have been using them without a problem. I've seen discussions on FB and other places where guys are warning of all the dire consequences. If there have been any dire consequences, I'd really appreciate seeing them documented. Not trying to start anything, I'm actually very curious about it and I would give such documentation a thorough evaluation. Most of what I've seen, however, is just guys giving their opinion which is fine. Just hoping to see if those opinions have been backed up at all.
Old 03-07-2014, 03:47 PM

Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0 I6

Personal experience; had a set in front and back for a year, then only in back for an additional year. No issues. I just double check the torque on them whenever I rotate my tires. Haven't had any loose nuts so far.
Old 03-07-2014, 03:50 PM
CF Veteran

Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Year: 1989 xj sport 2dr
Engine: 12 hole bosch Injectors

Spacers or adapters ?
Old 03-07-2014, 03:58 PM

Originally Posted by freegdr
Spacers or adapters ?
Yes. Mine are adapters but pretty much the same thing. 2" billet aluminum.
Old 03-07-2014, 04:07 PM
CF Veteran