Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

whats better for crawlin in a XJ

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2011, 04:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Talking whats better for crawlin in a XJ

Hey every one im new to the whole Jeep thing and looking to buy a cherokee here soon and every vehicle is different when climbing. so with a jeep what would be better for some good ol rock crawlin an automatic or manual. im going to go with a 6" lift on 33s and i live in NV less than an hr from the Rubicon trails and some other good trails near by so also will be lookin for some people to go with
Old 02-17-2011, 05:05 PM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0L HO

I would have to guess a manual just because you don't have the torque converter that can slip (and under heavy load like rock crawling, burn up)
Also, if you manage to overheat a manual, you are doing something wrong, automatics are easy to overheat.
Old 02-17-2011, 05:08 PM
CF Veteran

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Year: 1987
Engine: Check

I vote auto.

You can rebuild torque converters, and make them much stronger.

If you have a manual you'll burn up your clutch just as fast as your torque converter, not to mention the chance of constantly stalling the truck.

Autos are a bit smoother for those reasons, so for rock crawling I feel they are better.

Mud, though, a bit different. You can't do neutral drops very often in autos like you can with manuals without exploding your trans.
Old 02-17-2011, 05:10 PM
CF Veteran

Received 94 Likes on 85 Posts
Year: 1990, 1999, 2000
Engine: 4.0

i have a manual tj and auto xj. the xj is nicer in the rocks and climbing for sure. but the tj is nicer when going down steep hills.
Old 02-17-2011, 05:14 PM