Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stearing upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2017, 12:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001 XJ
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Stearing upgrade

Hello guys

I'm looking to upgrade my stearing. Im new to the jeep world and havent a clue about mods and upgrades. (willing to learn) I was wondering whats the best bolt on setup to use. Im no mechanic so dont really want to do any welding or drilling. I live in the uk so need to find upgrades over hear really.

Cheers

Andy
Old 02-27-2017, 03:21 PM

Year: 1989
Engine: 4.0L I6

Originally Posted by andybird
Hello guys

I'm looking to upgrade my stearing. Im new to the jeep world and havent a clue about mods and upgrades. (willing to learn) I was wondering whats the best bolt on setup to use. Im no mechanic so dont really want to do any welding or drilling. I live in the uk so need to find upgrades over hear really.

Cheers

Andy
Are you running big tires and need extra strength out of the steering components? Or just want your steering to feel tighter and more precise?
Old 02-27-2017, 03:32 PM

Hi. I'm running 31 inch tyres with a 4.5 lift. I think would like more precise stearing.
Old 02-27-2017, 04:19 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1995

There are lots of kits out there but you really need to decide if you want tie rod ends or heim joints ends. I want better steering but wanted to use tie rod ends but also wanted high steer and better brakes so the WJ swap is the route I am going. Just about have have all the parts here.
Old 02-27-2017, 04:44 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1992

Depends on your budget. V8Vzj tie rods are a direct swap. If your wallet is fat and needs lightening, you can look into currie steering.
Old 02-27-2017, 04:54 PM