Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Putting my lift on T-day!

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2012, 12:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1993
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default Putting my lift on T-day!

Alright I'm pumped to get my baby up from sagging to where she belongs. This being said, what kind of prep should I be doing to get ready to put it on? I understand that you can put on bolt loosener but I don't know what to get. Any other advice is greatly appreciated! I bet there are some rookie mistakes that are common, so if you can forwarn me that would be great! I'm no mechanic but I'm going to do my best.

This is the kit I ended up going with:

http://roughcountry.com/jeep_xj_4x.html

Thanks guys. CF has been invaluable since I got my xj!
Old 11-20-2012, 12:56 PM

Year: 1993

Looking forward to hearing how it goes,
Old 11-20-2012, 01:09 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

A 50/50 mix of Acetone and auto trans fluid is the best penetrating oil ever.
Make sure you have all the tools you'll need plus a BFH, come-along, torch, sawzall, etc.
Take your time
Take pictures.
Take measurements before you start of ride height, distance between certain points and your front and rear axles so you can keep everything in alignment for the most part.
If you don't have power tools, borrow some.
Old 11-20-2012, 01:41 PM

Year: 1998

Really blast the leaf spring eye bolts with penetrating oil for a few days prior, they can be a real pain and you may end up having to cut them out if they are frozen into the bushings. You might need a t-case drop kit if you dont already have one.
Old 11-20-2012, 02:52 PM
Do you hear banjos?

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts