Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

newbie in need of help 2000 XJ

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2015, 12:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default newbie in need of help 2000 XJ

Okay so I bought a 2000 Xj (first car) and Im still in highschool so of course I dont have alot of money to be putting into it. I am looking to lift it 3.5 inches and so far I have been collecting parts because I dont have the money to be buying those crazy lifts they sell online. So far I have 3.5 RC leafsprings, 3.5 rubicon express front coils and 3.5 Rc shocks. My question is what else would I NEED to be able to complete this lift kit and what else would be recommended to put in? thankyou!
Old 02-14-2015, 12:48 PM

I'm pretty new to this as well but I will tell you what I know, just take it with a grain of salt cause I may be wrong. At 3.5" that should be all you "need". It'll get her lifted and drivable. You may need some extensions for your brake lines but may be able to get away without. You'll need new tires (or what's the point on lifting it) and an alignment when all is said and done.
Old 02-14-2015, 12:50 PM
Seasoned Member

Hello... I am new to xj lifting as well... I am going to get a 3.5 RE kit, plus extras... I plan on running 33's and trimming fenders... I would say that it depends on what you plan on doing with it... I only play in mud, so I dont need crazy flex/clearance like the rock crawlers do... im sure you would get better responses on here by telling us your goals for how you want to use it... its better to build it towards a goal than to throw stuff on it that wont help
Old 02-14-2015, 12:52 PM

alright thanks a bunch bud! and yeah I have some 36 mickey thompson's off my brothers Bronco not sure if they'll fit though
Old 02-14-2015, 12:52 PM
Seasoned Member

And congrats on the XJ buy... I am super impressed with these vehicles...