Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New guy here with first 4x4 & first time lifting one. HELP

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2012, 06:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Exclamation New guy here with first 4x4 & first time lifting one. HELP

Ok guys, I have come from a background of mustangs, bagged cars/truvs/suvs (all 2wd), lowriders, leadsleds and so on...i'm a noob to 4x4's, a noob to lift kits and all that comes with them. Everything i own is modifieds lightly or heavily. I just picked up a 99 cherokee and it couldnt stay stock.

Started hunting lift kits and tires and so on.

Picked up a complete low mile rough country 6.5" lift kit with drop control arm brackets for $200, grabbed a nearly brand new set of bfg 33x10.5x15 all terrain ko's for $200 and decided i needed some wheels so i nabbed a set of cragar soft 8's? for $50...i know i lucked out on all of it.

I started with a 100k miles all bone stock cherokee. Sprayed every bolt on the thing even i didnt plan on touching it at that point and time, i read up some on lift threads and watched a few vids for problems and such. Started the removing stock parts, snapped all 4 rear shock bolts off even with a week of penetrating sprays and oxy/acel torch cherry red steel. the front leaf spring bolts were also a 2 hour project but did come out using a slightly modified picklefork and lots of heat. rear brake line was complete swelled and ready to go but just about everything else went ok.

Now that i have put the lift on i noticed a few problems that i think need immediate attention before i put it on the road.