Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

need advice on exhaust manifols and cat back

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2015, 04:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default need advice on exhaust manifols and cat back

i'm new to jeeps. i recently bought a 98 xj 2 door 150k on the clock. exhaust manifold is cracked, and it needs an exhaust. i'm going to be driving it mostly on the street. so i'm looking for advice on a new manifold and cat back exhaust.or any other upgrades for a mostly street machine
thanks mike
Old 10-11-2015, 05:31 PM
CF Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0L I6

If the exhaust manifold I'd cracked the motor mounts are probably dead as well as the trans mount. I would replace those 3 while your at it.

I recently did everything past the header on mine using walker factory replacements and a dynomax cat back. Pretty cheap and not loud at all. I don't particularly care for loud exhaust on an xj.

I ran the mbrp cat back previously and it stuck down too far and interfered with the leaf springs.
Old 10-11-2015, 06:13 PM
Banned

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: Golen 4.6L

How do you want it to sound?
Old 10-11-2015, 06:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

a little rumble but not loud. thanks for the tip on mtr mounts
Old 10-11-2015, 07:51 PM
Banned

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: Golen 4.6L

First off, this topic has been discussed a considerable amount. If you search the site, you'll find dozens of threads on it with all the information you can handle. The best way to search the site is to ignore the site's own search function and instead go to Google and use the "site:" tag, like so:

site:cherokeeforum.com headers