Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking for Answers...

Old 01-22-2013, 10:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Looking for Answers...

Im new to Lifts and I wanna lift the truck im buying. I had an XJ for my first truck when I was 16. Best car I ever owned. It was 2wd but I still managed to go wheelin with buddies haha. I want another one and have one lined up to buy. Its a 94 sport 4x4 5spd. 242408 on the clock but very well maintained. I know how to swing a wrench and I know a fair amount about XJ's being a previous owner. What I need help with is lifting it. I cant figure out if I want 6.5'', 5" or 4.5''. Brands Im considering are IRO, RE, and RC. I know I want long arms and Ill be getting an SYE and new rear drive shaft to go with it. Also seen I should get an Adjustable track bar and quick disconnects. I Kno what the trac bar is but what are the disconnects? I want a very capable rig that is still streetable as this will serve as my daily for a while. Lift prolly wont go on for 6 months to a yr. Im just trying to get my info as of now. I know the higher I go the more I'll need to modify. Everywhere I read tho im getting different info. I want some solid info so I know what Im getting into. Also if someone can shed some light on the advantages of going with a D44 or chrysler 8.25 rear vs d35. Thanx in advance
-Ivan
Old 01-22-2013, 11:49 PM

I'm going with a 4.5 x series from rough country. A lot of people on here will probably say rough country sucks, but for me I don't do a lot of hard wheeling. My jeep is my dd. The rc kit comes with adj trac bar, adj upper and lower control arms, and swaybar discos. The quick discos are for offroading only, you want it connected while driving on road. Disconnected gives you more flex. Remember taller lift doesn't mean better performing.
Old 01-22-2013, 11:51 PM