Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Led bulb conversion problems

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2012, 10:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Led bulb conversion problems

Hi everyone, I'm new to this thread and this is my first post. I've got a technical problem that has had me stumped all day.

I just recently swapped all of the exterior bulbs on my 2001 cherokee with led replacements. I also replaced the flasher unit with an electronic one. Shortly after doing this the left front side marker stopped working, I'm positive it isn't the bulb or the socket.
When I turn on the hazards the rear brake lights and license plate light also flash at the same rate. When I use the left turn signal the gauges and brake lights also flash and the right front turn signal dimly flashes. Using the left turn signal with the headlights on causes the turn signal to stay lit.

I've gone through almost all of the wiring for the lights on the front and have yet to find a bad ground. All of the wiring seems to be correct, I'm confused as to why I've got this problem after switching to leds.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Old 09-25-2012, 04:34 PM

Im having a similar problem. Went with the exterior LED conversion and my lights are all haywire. I went with rear trailer style LED lights for the JCR Tail Light Boxes and regular LED bulbs up front. I changed my relay to an electronic one. Have you figured this out yet?
Old 09-25-2012, 05:35 PM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0 HO Straight Six

http://www.superbrightleds.com/pdfs/...istor_info.pdf

Maybe that'll solve it?
Old 09-26-2012, 09:37 PM

Originally Posted by 1996sportXJ

Theres gotta be a way to do this project with out load resistors. I did install the LED (electronic) flasher.
Old 09-26-2012, 10:31 PM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: '99 and '91