Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

just got an 01 XJ sport trying to get into wheeling!

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2018, 09:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0L
Default just got an 01 XJ sport trying to get into wheeling!

Hello all,
I am very new to Jeeps in general i haven't even ridden in one until i bought this 2001 Cherokee sport and so far it has blown me away with everything. Im from AK and i go four wheeling all the time in my old dodge but when i took this jeep about a weekend ago and did some pretty moderate stuff and it handled it all just fine!

But im new to this and have no idea what is most likely to hit, i feel like its the gas tank but does the T-case need it more? or is there something else i should invest in to keep problems from occurring?
I currently have done the following to it:
- cold air intake
- speakers
- headlights
Attached Thumbnails just got an 01 XJ sport trying to get into wheeling!-img_2644.jpg   just got an 01 XJ sport trying to get into wheeling!-img_2517.jpg   just got an 01 XJ sport trying to get into wheeling!-img_2466.jpg  
Old 01-25-2018, 09:54 PM
CF Veteran

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
Year: My Jeep is a GMC

That intake location is going to suck super heated air right off the exhaust. I wouldn't venture off road without a hitch at the very minimum for recovery.
Old 01-25-2018, 11:16 PM
::CF Administrator::

Received 770 Likes on 524 Posts
Year: 97
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.6 stroker

Well, turbo went where I was gonna go...recovery. You'll want good recovery points and protection if you wanna do a lot of offroading. Good bumpers with frame tie ins are a must, front and rear. Sliders under the rockers are next. A winch up front is desirable, but you can get away with a hi lift jack and proper rigging (if you don't know about this, then please read up).