Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

JK D30/44 Swap into XJ Build List

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2015, 10:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Default JK D30/44 Swap into XJ Build List

Currently I have a set of 2008 JK Dana 30 front & Dana 44 rear axles that I'd like to swap into my 1999 XJ.

I have searched Google & read all the threads I can find about this topic until my eyes have bled & my brain explodes. I *think* I understand what all I need to complete the job but I'm still a noob so I'd like a second opinion on the method & parts selection if possible. I figured I'd truss it while I have the axle off the Jeep as well.

Here's the summary of what I've gathered for swapping the fronts since the rear is straight forward:

- Need to relocate the spring perches inwards approx 1-1.5" on each side (JK Axle is 5" wider total)
- Need to move the spring perch mounts back approx 1" (JK Axle are centered above the axle tube)
- Need to rotate the LCA brackets to be perpendicular to the axle tube (JK's are slightly angled outwards)
- Upper control are brackets are the same
- Axle tube diameter is the same

I know TNT makes a complete truss kit just for such a swap HERE. Keep in mind that I'd need to buy C Gussets to go with the TNT kit since they don't offer them.

It appears I can mimic the same parts from Artec (which I like their build quality & design a little better). I'd need to buy sway bar mounts for the Artec route since they don't offer those.

With this route I'll either need to re-use the stock JK buckets or go with something like this as well from Ballistic Fab (which you get the LCA mounts as well).

Thoughts, Suggestions, or Criticisms?

Last edited by -ND4SPD-; 04-01-2015 at 10:42 PM.
Old 04-01-2015, 11:11 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 97
Engine: 4.0L