Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I am stuck on 2" or 3"

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2011, 02:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default I am stuck on 2" or 3"

Hey guys I am a newbie. I have posted a thread before and you guys a awesome at helping. So thank you.I drive a 1998 Cherokee. 4.0,auto, 242 transfer. My first jeep and I want to build it my own. Lol. I am on the fence about a 2" or 3" lift. I don't know how to feel about the spacers above coil spring and that all there seems to be on the 2" kits. I wasn't sure as what brand that makes a really good baby lift (2" and 3"). I want to stay practical and have it stay my daily driver.I don't want to hop up into the driver seat. Just a cherokee with a bit of lift. With a 3" does there need to be anything moved, dropped, or upgraded. If you guys could spit what info you have to me I would greatly appreciate it. Thnx.
Old 02-24-2011, 03:13 PM
CF Veteran

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Year: 1987
Engine: Check

With a 2" lift you'll be fine without having to move or drop anything. Typically you won't with a 3" either, but every truck is different.

I've got a BDS 3" lift and I like it.

I'm thinking that with only 2" you'll want more.
Old 02-24-2011, 03:15 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0HO

no mater what size lift you install you WILL need to get an alignment and upgrade your track bar, or relocate the stock track bar (best option on cheaper lift), you will also need shocks...

this is what I would do for 3"

http://rustysoffroad.com/mm5/merchan...ode=sus_xj_kit

then relocate you track bar

for 1.5"-2.5" I would do this

front mad XJ coil spacers, cost about $10 to make them yourself... you can make them anywhere from 0.5"-as much as 4"