Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Going Higher, Could driveline vibes get worse?

Old 10-06-2015, 12:00 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Going Higher, Could driveline vibes get worse?

So currently I have a 3" Trailmaster kit. It was an AAL kit so naturally the old leafs that were already wore out weren't much good anymore. Replaced the rear packs with 3.5" ProComp leaf packs and that's when the driveline vibes started. I added a .75" spacer to the front to level it out and added a 1" t case drop. The vibes are much better with the t case drop but they are still there.

I decided to go a little higher by adding .75" Rusty's shackles in the rear and replacing the front .75" spacers with 1.75" spacers. So I'll be at roughly 4.25" all around. I don't believe the front springs are a true 3" lift, more like 2.5".

With that being said, since adding the shackles doesn't necessarily move the axle down more but lift the body up some, would this make my driveline vibes worse? And what about adding the taller spacer in the front?

I've looked at doing a SYE but since mine has a 242 t case my options are kinda limited to a Hack N' Tap then adding a front driveshaft to the rear for that. I'd like to do this and get rid of the t case drop all together but I'm rather skeptical about doing this method for a SYE.

I'm replacing my shocks with 4"-6" Skyjackers Hydros and extending my rear brake line while I'm at it since it's pretty much at its limit with the new leaf packs. Is there anything else I should be aware of?
Old 10-06-2015, 01:21 PM
CF Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Year: 1994 SE

I'm still new to this so take it for what it's worth. But it shouldn't matter if you are lowering the axle or raising the body, it is still increasing the height difference.