Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Body armour

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2018, 02:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee(SJ)
Default Body armour

I'm in the initial stages of building vehicle specific armour panels and I see all these jokes about bubble gum and double back tape to mount our Jeep armour. Has anyone walked up and down the adhesive aisle at your local home improvement store and seen the amount of glues rtv..🤔🤔I'm an aircraft sheet metal mechanic by trade and have used a plethora of aviation grade adhesives that applied properly would be more than enough to mount our body armour panels. As an up and coming manufacturer and hopefully a retailer , I think pavement pounders need body panels that have a nice clean look, so why not have an option for mounting.
Old 02-28-2018, 03:09 PM
CF Veteran

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by Derrick Bartholomew
I'm in the initial stages of building vehicle specific armour panels and I see all these jokes about bubble gum and double back tape to mount our Jeep armour. Has anyone walked up and down the adhesive aisle at your local home improvement store and seen the amount of glues rtv..🤔🤔I'm an aircraft sheet metal mechanic by trade and have used a plethora of aviation grade adhesives that applied properly would be more than enough to mount our body armour panels. As an up and coming manufacturer and hopefully a retailer , I think pavement pounders need body panels that have a nice clean look, so why not have an option for mounting.
I'm confused... You want to make adhesives or armor? Or both...and most pavement pounders ive seen only ever have bumpers. Never full fledgedarmor.
Old 02-28-2018, 03:47 PM

Originally Posted by Martlor13