Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Aftermarket Stereo install questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2012, 11:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 I6
Default Aftermarket Stereo install questions

This is my first time posting... I have a 1999 Cherokee Sport. I received an aftermarket JVC head unit and I want to install in in my cherokee. I have installed a couple of units before in different cars and have never used an adapter. I did no research on the cherokee wiring before I started and have since cut the wires. I did not realize that the lighting was wired through the stereo. When the JVC stereo is connected it shows power and appears to be working but I am not getting any sound. The OEM stereo worked flawlessly before I attempted to install the aftermarket. I have all the speaker wires connected correctly but the wires I have left are:

From the Jeep: orange
black/ yellow

from the JVC wire connector: Blue/ white.

My question is if anyone has physically wired in a stereo without an adapter to point me in the right direction.
Old 12-03-2012, 11:23 PM

Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0L

Usually the only thing that would prevent sound if the unit is on is if you have the Infinity 6 speaker system. There is a factory amp that needs to have 12 volts when the radio is on (that would be your blue/white on the JVC).

Neither of those wires you have left on the car side sound like the factory amp turn on wire. I think the wire is dark blue with a stripe. I have a PDF wiring diagram of the Jeep at work (I have a '98 and it is the same). Let us know if you have the 4 speaker standard system or the 6 speaker Infinity and if you have not solved it before tomorrow I will look up the wiring for you.
Old 12-03-2012, 11:35 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Year: 1996
Engine: 4litre