Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Abou to start my re-gear project.

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2012, 08:37 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 2000 XJ
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.8L Stroker
Default Abou to start my re-gear project.

I have my whole front end torn apart because I am in the middle of installing my lift. I realized that with a couple more bolts I can remove the whole front axle and diff assembly. I then thought I should just do my re-gear since its all apart. I was curious if there is any advantage to having it out from under he vehicle to install new gears beside the obvious not having to work under the vehicle. It's my first attempt at this so I am sure I will have many questions. I figure that I have to learn at some point. Thanks!
Old 08-09-2012, 08:46 PM
CF Veteran

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Year: 93 2 door
Engine: 4.0

yeah it's easier having it out and on some jack stands so you have room to work. re gearing is not a beginners or a first timer 'learn as you go' kind of project... it also requires a couple expensive specialty tools.

http://www.pirate4x4.com/tech/billavista/Gear_Setup/
Old 08-09-2012, 09:06 PM
Seasoned Member

I have someone who has the tools and is willing to let me use them. And I figure that everyone has to do it for the first time at some point. If I can build engines, I should be able to do this.
Old 08-09-2012, 09:11 PM
CF Veteran

it's tough. I watched the whole process. at least get someone to supervise and walk you through it the first time. it's really important to get them perfect
Old 08-09-2012, 09:38 PM
CF Veteran

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Year: 92

Originally Posted by SpruceJedi
I have someone who has the tools and is willing to let me use them. And I figure that everyone has to do it for the first time at some point. If I can build engines, I should be able to do this.