Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

88 Cherokee - Tranny Problems?

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2011, 03:18 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1988
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 Litre Renix MPI
Default 88 Cherokee - Tranny Problems?

I am completely new to Jeeps, and this forum (Hi!). I recently bought a 88 Cherokee Laredo, Lifted, Manual, 200k miles, New plugs, New steering pump, New fuel filter, Interior roll bar, 33" mud tires, Black steel wheels, Custom winch bumper, tree sliders, roofrack, Dana 30 and 35, 4.0l AMC engine, etc. etc. - all in all not too bad of a deal for $900.

The majority of the work was obviously done home-brew style, so the inside is a bit messy, some bypassing of the vacuum regulator, messy wiring, etc. Lots of lights don't work, the entire dash is out, no guages, you get the picture.

I initially bought the thing, quite honestly, to tear up my back field with, but the first time I got it stuck I think I fell in love. Now I've been playing with it a bit, trying to reconnect some of the bad or unconnected wiring, tearing up the field even more, and thinking about putting some real work into it. However, the last time I got it stuck, I think we may have screwed something up in the transmission by trying to rock out of the situation (I know, I know). All of a sudden yesterday, 2 weeks since it got stuck, the reverse gear quit functioning.