Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2018, 09:19 AM
Seasoned Member

Received 34 Likes on 23 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0
Default What do body miles really mean?: A philosophical first post

As the title suggests I'm interested in hearing from the community on what high/low body miles really mean to you. I'm sure everyone thinks about it a little differently but I'm new to the jeep community and am just starting to wrap my head around the important aspects of a sound older vehicle. To skip to the point... Let's take an example of an 1999 XJ that has 250k on the body. The engine and transfer case both have 120k miles on them and the transmission has 40k. Assuming the body is in great condition and previous owner has religiously replaced failing parts or kept up with recommended maintenance does 250k really mean what we picture when someone says 250k? Are there too many factors when assessing a vehicle that has many major parts replaced?

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.
Ixnay
Old 05-17-2018, 10:07 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: 4.0 Renix

These things are very much what you see is what you get.

You can have cracking and popped spot welds on the uniframe prior to 100K. You could have massive rust issues by then too. Or it could still be fairly mint.

It will also depend on your plans for it. By 250K likely most of the suspension components will be totally thrashed, which if you're planning to lift it is no big deal.
Old 05-17-2018, 04:39 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee

Rust is worse than miles on most XJ bodies, the opposite on the drivetrain.
Old 05-17-2018, 06:03 PM
CF Veteran

Received 623 Likes on 465 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: 4.0L