Weird cant to the front end

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2013, 06:05 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0l
Default Weird cant to the front end

Okay, let me preface this by saying I'm not a mechanic. Give me a Haynes manual and I can do "okay" when it comes to troubleshooting/repairs/etc. IF it involves tools Joe Average might have around the house (ie, wrenches, screwdrivers, etc.).

This is my first Cherokee, a vehicle purchased mainly so my newly licensed son will have access to a vehicle. Obviously, it's also something of a toy for me. I've had it two weeks now and so far I've installed a new stereo/speakers (which was a first for me, thank you Crutchfield for making it easy!), replaced the interior incandescent bulbs with LEDs, and I'm waiting for a metal replacement center console bracket (thanks ccooper!)

Yesterday I installed new Autopal headlights, with Hella 100/80 bulbs and the Putco wiring harness. All went pretty smoothly and best of all, they worked! Last night I went out to see how it all looked.

One light is decidedly higher than the other....and it's not the aiming, there is a 'lean' to it. I started looking harder at the front end and had a revelation. While I'd always kinda thought the front end looked a little weird, but I always wrote it off to being parked on a slope or whatever. But after last night, it looks like my left front tire has 2" of lift on it and the others don't! LOL

Any ideas on where I start looking for the problem? This is kinda beyond me.
Old 06-22-2013, 06:13 AM
CF Veteran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1997
Engine: 2.5 td

A spirit Level.
Old 06-22-2013, 08:02 AM

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Year: 1993
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by AllenTC2
Okay, let me preface this by saying I'm not a mechanic. Give me a Haynes manual and I can do "okay" when it comes to troubleshooting/repairs/etc. IF it involves tools Joe Average might have around the house (ie, wrenches, screwdrivers, etc.).