Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Need help

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2014, 04:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Need help

Just bought a 1996 Cherokee XJ with 56,000 original miles for my kid and looking to do a 3" lift to accommodate 31's. I was looking at the Rustys 3" kit with full leaf replacement, shocks, new coils. Rustys is saying I don't need to replace the control arms and doesn't mention the track bar.

Talking with a local dealer, they suggest replacing the control arms and lowering the track bar. Additionally, they're saying to do an add-a-leaf and not replace the rear leafs. Basically says their kit is incomplete. I'm new to this but want it done right. My son won't be doing any hardcore off roaming.

Any suggestions or thoughts would be appreciated.
Old 01-24-2014, 04:52 PM
::CF Administrator::

Received 770 Likes on 524 Posts
Year: 97
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.6 stroker

Well, don't listen to that "dealer", anyone who suggests an add a leaf is better than a full leaf pack is full of it. Sure, it can be done, but if you want it done right, you are on the right track with your first option. Go with a full suspension lift if you can, you'll thank yourself later. As with all things do your homework first, I suggest searching on this site and google and start reading. This topic has been covered incessantly.
https://www.cherokeeforum.com/f67/al...go-here-10579/
https://www.cherokeeforum.com/f67/xj...mpanies-76868/

A couple of links to get you started...
Old 01-24-2014, 05:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thanks

Thanks a bunch. Don't wanna screw it up. Just posted there.
Old 01-24-2014, 06:16 PM
Herp Derp Jerp

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0L OBD-II

^^^ Premium advice from our friend roninofako.