Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2013, 07:56 PM
Jio

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Just bought a XJ

How's it going everyone. I just bought a 99 jeep Cherokee sport and I want to know if I got a good deal.

The roof needs a headliner, the ac does not blow cold, and when I turn it on, there is a squeaky sound that gets louder as I accelerate but goes away after 20 min of driving. Also the check engine light is on but I read that is normal.

My plans are to lift and put nicer tires on it but before I do that I want to know that all small mechanical problems are resolved. Also I am not a mechanic so if my friends can't help me out I will have to go to a shop.

My XJ has 143XXX miles. Price was $1k plus another $300 for tag, registration and first month insurance.

I look forward to hearing from you guys.
Old 12-29-2013, 07:59 PM

Engine: 4.0 I6

The check engine light being on is not normal, take it to an auto parts store and get the code read, but being a 99 that's good it's considered one of the best years I have 99 too.
Old 12-29-2013, 08:07 PM
Jio

What about the squeaky sound? I sprayed WD40 on the what I think are the pulleys and the sound did go away but not for long. As soon as I got back in to drive somewhere else the sound was there
Old 12-29-2013, 08:12 PM
CF Veteran

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 with all of the noise and clatter

Replace the serpentine belt and clean the pulleys with brake cleaner, check all of the idler pulleys for smooth operation and no side to side play.
Old 12-29-2013, 08:21 PM
Jio

ok so could I get the belt at junk yard or should I buy it new? As for the idler pulley, where is that and how do I check for side to side movement.
Old 12-29-2013, 08:35 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1993
Engine: 4.0 Litre

Originally Posted by Jio