Finally got my first XJ

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2011, 08:51 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Finally got my first XJ

I picked it up a couple of weeks ago. It's a 2001 with 76,xxxx miles. It's was a one owner and he was around 80 years old so I imagine it wasn't driven hard at all. I had my buddy professional detail it and took off the side molding. The first thing I plan on doing are tint, clear markers and turn signals. new headlights, rubber floor mats and maybe a new sound system. It's gonna be a 95% DD but I would like to do a small lift maybe 2-3 inches but I'm still researching that. A 4.5 inch lift is what I want but I really don't want to get into all the extra money like a SYE, drive shafts. and whatever else is required. Let me know what yo think. I'm a newbie so any help would be great.
Attached Thumbnails Finally got my first XJ-jeep.jpg  
Old 11-03-2011, 08:58 AM
CF Veteran

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Year: 1987
Engine: Check

Looks good!
Old 11-03-2011, 10:42 AM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1998

Reeeeal nice looking
Old 11-03-2011, 10:44 AM
Seasoned Member

Why is it clean? I think it's missing mud on it!
Old 11-03-2011, 10:50 AM
CF Veteran

Received 24 Likes on 24 Posts

Very nice! Welcome to the addiction! For a 95% DD, I would recommend a 3" lift with full leaf packs and 31's. You don't have to regear, you get a really nice stance, and it lose much as far as mpg's go. If you want to go to bigger you have a good base platform for spacers and shackles.
Old 11-03-2011, 11:38 AM

Looks great,how much is involved removing the side moldings,just tape cleanup?
Old 11-03-2011, 12:26 PM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1987 Comanche,1990
Engine: 4.0L Renix

looks like it never left the garage...good find
Old 11-03-2011, 01:08 PM

Originally Posted by 01 5spoke
Looks great,how much is involved removing the side moldings,just tape cleanup?