Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

Air bumper?

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2011, 11:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air bumper?

Ok so I had a friend from up north tell me awhile back about how some of his friends made there own steal bumpers outta 3 inch tube'n and would weld the ends up and put air fittings on it so they would have it on the trail if they had a flat. Do y'all think it would be a good idea to do it for the front and rear?
Old 11-16-2011, 12:12 AM

Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

Do you mean they seal the tube bumpers and make that their air tank? Hmm, I'm not an engineer, but I wouldn't trust it. I believe air tanks are rounded for a reason. Not sure why you'd want to drive around with big, pressurized tanks on the front AND rear of you rig, sounds dangerous. Wonder if someone rear ended that thing if the result would be similar to rear ending a Pinto?
Old 11-16-2011, 12:23 AM

Year: 2000
Engine: 4.0 I6

I've hear of it... It's kinda jerry rigged from the ones I have seen. It's not really pressurized, its just a little extra air for getting a bit of air into one tire, nothing close to an on board air set up.
Old 11-16-2011, 12:24 AM

True but it would be handy on the trail wouldn't it? As long as you filled it before you headed off to the trails
Old 11-16-2011, 12:26 AM

I mean if you put 100 psi. In it it would be more than enough for a tire
Old 11-16-2011, 12:57 AM
Seasoned Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1995
Engine: 4.0 HO

it would fill a tire and hold air but if you plan to do this i have to make a few suggestions

air tanks are rounded for a reason so just using round tube and welding a plate to the end isnt good enough you need to use domed pipe caps like the ones found here

https://www.shopwagner.com/nxc/nxcli.nsf

your looking for the steel

Type C Weld On Domed Caps