Fabrication & builders section. All fabrication posts go here.
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ Only projects go here. Questions belong in modified tech.

Welder for beginner

Old 09-25-2018, 12:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee(SJ)
Default Welder for beginner

I was curious on what type of welder would be best for a beginner to learn on. I’ve talked to a couple people at work and some say MIG is the easiest and best choice while others say stick and I’ve also done some reading about flux-cored. I’m not looking into fabrication I just want something that I can do simple welds with. The only welding I’ve done was building up some rods with oxy acetylene many years ago, so I’m a complete beginner. Like I said, I’m not looking to do big jobs or start building anything I just want to be able to stick two pieces of metal together.

Last edited by BigFred; 09-25-2018 at 01:36 PM.
Old 09-25-2018, 02:33 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1994
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

ill tell you this ......you can get a much better stick welder cheap than a flux core or mig machine plus a lot less stuff to go wrong with a stick machine (no moving parts, no tanks , no regulators ,no tips ,no gun) just to name a few look on youtube for cheapest stick welder on amazon by ChuckE2009 he goes into great detail on why a cheap stick welder is better . if money is no object a nice mig machine is tuff to beat !!
Old 09-25-2018, 02:56 PM

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Grand Cherokee (ZJ)
Engine: 5.2

Originally Posted by tinytrax78
ill tell you this ......you can get a much better stick welder cheap than a flux core or mig machine plus a lot less stuff to go wrong with a stick machine (no moving parts, no tanks , no regulators ,no tips ,no gun) just to name a few look on youtube for cheapest stick welder on amazon by ChuckE2009 he goes into great detail on why a cheap stick welder is better . if money is no object a nice mig machine is tuff to beat !!