Fabrication & builders section. All fabrication posts go here.
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ Only projects go here. Questions belong in modified tech.

Custom front bumper fab idea

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2009, 09:49 PM
CF Veteran

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1987
Model: Comanche
Engine: I6 4.0L
Default Custom front bumper fab idea

Alright guys im new to custom metal fab. So i thought you all could help me out on this one. Im in a high school auto tech. class but they also have a welding class which does projects for us sometimes such as battery boxes and things. So I thought I would go down there when school starts up and see if they would fab me up a bumper. I figure if I can make the plans they could cut the material and weld it up for me.

So as I start throwing around ideas in my mind I came across what i beleve would be the hardest part. and that would be the mounting system. But then i remembered I saw something on JCR's website. They are there unibody tie in brackets. I figure if i got a couple of these I could have the welding program build off them.

http://www.jcroffroad.com/Merchant2/...egory_Code=XJB

What do you guys think? Also sense im new to this what thickness material would you sugest? Any help would be great.

Thanks guys,
Al
Old 08-20-2009, 06:00 PM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 2001
Engine: 4.0

Welding shop is good. i took that and auto last year. very helpfull. word of caution though...with something like this i would get with someone you know and TRUST thats capable of building things like this. if the biggest thing someone has made was a little bolt man then you'll get a piece of ****. Plus a bumper is bigger then the intention span of SOME kids in welding at least in my school, so i wouldnt trust them completley.
But hey if you know someone that can do something of this caliber then go for it.