Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

wj radio only plays the blues

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2017, 07:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default wj radio only plays the blues

it's been one of those days where you win a few and lose a few. When I bought this 04 Laredo the factory radio was missing with only a hole in the dash where it used to be. I decided to put one in it today and got one from a friend of mine who owns a junkyard down the road from my house. We found the correct radio in an 04 Chrysler Intrepid and I went to put it in and discovered that the wiring harness which hooks to it in the Cherokee was burnt up. So while I'm studying the damage my daughter tells me that something is wrong with my dodge charger police interceptor. The traction control light is staying on and the car spins the drive tires real bad taking off from a dead stop.
So I took the charger back to the wrecking yard to get the wiring harness for the radio and it was a blast. I had no idea how much power that car really had until today. At half throttle it white smokes the tires and at full throttle it is nearly undriveable. It has the big hemi engine and is the high performance interceptor model on top of that with a four speed automatic. Basically it is an SRT Charger in a plain white wrapper. I'm not going to fix the traction control as apparently it has been throttling the engine down for some time on takeoffs and this thing is way too much fun to drive with those loud exhaust and spinning tires.