Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Total noob with engine swap questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2013, 05:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Total noob with engine swap questions

I have recently procured a 99 WJ that has been overheated to the point of failure. It is 4.0 and one of the later ones at that (coil-pack ignition)

I also have managed to get an engine form a friend who labeled it as a 98 Cherokee 4.0 liter... It has a distributer, bit I don't have a sub-model of the jeep it came out of.

My question is, can I put that engine in my jeep, and how can I ensure that overheating will not be a problem?

P.S. Have already done the radiator, t-stat, upper and lower hoses. when the overheating started.

As explanation, I was stuck in slow moving traffic and could not get over to stop before it was too late...
Old 11-22-2013, 11:29 AM
Old fart with a wrench

Received 723 Likes on 628 Posts
Year: 2000 XJ Sport & WJ Laredo
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)
Engine: 4.0L

If the motor mounts are the same, you can put it in. It may be a problem getting it to run, however. You'd have to use ALL the electronics and sensors from the WJ, as well as the ignition system. I'd be willing to bet the reason for the WJ's overheat was a shattered water pump impeller. It was probably plastic.
Old 11-22-2013, 01:38 PM

the only thing I was worried about the ignition system. taking a distributer block and putting the coil pack system on it...

I keep seeing something about the head being different, where the coilpack bracket mounts. Any idea if this is true?

Last edited by eddielane71488; 11-22-2013 at 01:38 PM. Reason: added informaiton
Old 11-22-2013, 09:39 PM

Originally Posted by dave1123