Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

timing question

Old 12-05-2016, 05:58 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
marklar134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Henderson NV
Posts: 91
Year: 2001
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default timing question

so i timed my crank and cam sprockets and i just realized piston number 1 was at BDC not TDC. its mounted in the jeep but havent gotten the radiator and stuff put back in so retiming the sprockets wouldnt be difficult but i just wanted to clarify that piston #1 needs to be timed at TDC correct? got the timing marks lined up and everything but its 180 off, do i need to retime to TDC on 1 or can i just time the cam sensor from where im at?
marklar134 is offline  
Old 12-06-2016, 05:43 AM
  #2  
CF Veteran
 
dave1123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Manlius, east of Syracuse, NY
Posts: 11,288
Year: 2000
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)
Engine: 4.0L
Default

#1 must be at TDC with the timing marks lined up. If you turn the crank one full turn, then the cam sprocket mark will be 180* around on the other side of the camshaft and the valves will be open at the top of the exhaust stroke.

How did you get the crank sprocket to line up at BDC?
dave1123 is offline  
Old 12-06-2016, 08:35 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
marklar134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Henderson NV
Posts: 91
Year: 2001
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default

lined up the timing marks and #1 piston was all the way down, i wasnt thinking about it being at TDC, i was just curious if it had to be at TDC because it all lined up when it wasnt at TDC. didnt know if i could just rotate it around to TDC when i get the cam synchro installed and have it be correctly timed
marklar134 is offline  
Old 12-06-2016, 08:39 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
marklar134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Henderson NV
Posts: 91
Year: 2001
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default

cam gear has 48 teeth and the crank gear has 24, i was just wondering if i could rotate it twice and have it timed correctly at TDC
marklar134 is offline  
Old 12-06-2016, 09:04 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
marklar134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Henderson NV
Posts: 91
Year: 2001
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default

nevermind, answered my own question, cam gear would still be 180 out, looks like im loosening the rockers and messing with the timing this weekend.
marklar134 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description: